Appeals Resources

Property Tax Appeals

The Preservation Compact’s property tax policy working group recommends that affordable multifamily rental owners appeal the assessed value of their properties.

For more information about the appeals process, read our Guide to Appealing Your Property Taxes for multifamily property owners.   Additional resources are available through the Cook County Assessor’s Office, the Cook County Board of Review, and through your Township Assessor.

The Preservation Compact offers the list of property tax appeal attorneys and practitioners below as a resource to property owners but does not endorse any particular practitioner, attorney, or firm. Property owners should contact representatives directly.

Property owners do not need an attorney to appeal their assessment to the Cook County Assessor’s Office.

It is typical for attorneys and practitioners to work for either a flat fee or a contingent fee. Under a flat fee arrangement, the owner agrees to pay the representative a fixed amount per year of the three year triennial assessment and the fee is payable regardless of the results of the appeal. An alternative fee arrangement is a contingent fee agreement, meaning there will be no fee unless the appeal is successful, and payment will be a percentage of the savings in the first year of the triennial re-assessment resulting from the appeal. If the fee is contingent upon a reduction in assessed value, an attorney or practitioner may charge a nominal fee to open a file. In all cases, fees are negotiable as to the amount of a flat fee or the percentage of savings in taxes that a contingent fee is based upon.

Questions or concerns should be directed to Stacie Young at stacie.young@cicchicago.com.

Appeals Representatives:

 

Attorneys/Law Firms

Charles J. Masters & Associates, Ltd.
Charles Masters, Esq.
340 W. Diversey Parkway
Chicago, Illinois 60657
(773) 244-0100
 www.lawcjm.com

Elliott & Associates Attorneys, PC
Michael Elliot
1430 Lee Street
Des Plaines, Illinois 60018
(847) 298-8300
mike@elliottlaw.com
www.elliottlaw.com 

RT Relias & Tsonis, LLC
George J. Relias
150 S. Wacker Drive
Suite 1600
Chicago, Illinois 60606
(312) 428-3021 direct
grelias@RTpropertytax.com
http://www.rtpropertytax.com

Madigan & Getzendanner
Jeffrey A. Holland
30 North LaSalle, Suite 3906
Chicago, Illinois  60602
(312) 551-3310
jholland@madigetz.com

McCracken, McCracken & Behrens, P.C.
Jennifer Truong
111 West Washington Street, Suite 1540
Chicago, Illinois 60602
(312) 263-4308
jtruong@mmbtaxlaw.com
www.mmbtaxlaw.com

Miner, Barnhill & Galland, PC 
William Miceli, Esq.
14 W Erie Street
Chicago, Illinois 60654
(312) 751-1170
wmiceli@lawmbg.com

Raila & Associates, PC
Andrea Raila, Sr. Tax Analyst
747 North LaSalle Street, Suite 700
Chicago, Illinois 60654
(312) 587-9494
araila@railaandassociatespc.com
www.railaandassociatespc.com

Rieff Schramm Kanter & Guttman
Glenn Guttman
100 N LaSalle, 23rd Floor
Chicago, Illinois 60602
(312) 372-2500
gguttman@realproptax.com
www.rskglaw.com

Romanoff & Dickett, LTD 
William Romanoff
111 W Washington St, Suite 1525
Chicago, Illinois 60602
(312) 368-8750
Bill_r@sbcglobal.net

Rubin & Norris, LLC 
Donald Rubin
205 West Wacker Drive, Suite 705
Chicago, Illinois 60606
(312) 263-1360, extension 17
dtrubin@propertytaxattorneys.com
www.propertytaxattorneys.com

Sarnoff & Baccash
Steven Kandelman
One N. LaSalle Street, Suite 1920
Chicago, Illinois 60602
(312) 782-8310
skandelman@sarnoffbaccash.com
www.sarnoffbaccash.com

Schoenberg Finkel Newman & Rosenberg, LLC
G. Terence Nader
222 South Riverside Plaza, Suite 2100
Chicago, Illinois 60606
(312) 648-2300
terry.nader@sfnr.com
www.sfnr.com

Worsek & Vihon LLP
Nicholas McIntyre
180 N. LaSalle Street, Suite 3010
Chicago, Illinois 60601
Direct: (312) 917-2314
Main: (312) 368-0091
nmcintyre@wvproptax.com
www.wvproptax.com

Consulting Firms

J Stein Property Tax Consultants
Mike P. Sweeney
185 North Franklin, Suite 201
Chicago, Illinois 60606
(312) 407-9400
msweeney@jsteintaxes.com
www.jsteintaxes.com

Robert Clark and Associates
Robert A. Clark
111 N. Wheaton Avenue, Unit 408
Wheaton, Illinois 60187
(630) 668-1360
advalrom@aol.com

Stella Black Real Estate Consultants
Stella Black
100 N. LaSalle, Suite 810
Chicago, Illinois 60602
(312) 701-0079
Fax: (312) 638-0989
proptaxms@aol.com